Review of the IEMA noise guidance update 2014

13th March 2015


Related Topics

Related tags

  • Management

Author

IEMA

Peter Kneen at WYG highlights the changes brought in by IEMA's new noise guidance.

October 2014 saw the publication of IEMA’s guidelines for environmental noise impact assessment. This document replaces the draft guidelines published by the Institute of Acoustics (IOA) and IEMA in April 2002.

The new guidance has now been around for just over three months and consultants, planning authorities and other interested parties have been putting it into practice. This article outlines the main changes to the guidance and how these revisions are influencing noise impact assessments. It is a high-level review of the main changes and their implications rather than an in-depth analysis of all the technical differences between the two documents.

Most aspects of the new document will be well known and already in use by the majority of consultants. However, this document for the first time provides a comprehensive and user-friendly guide to noise impact assessments for all levels of understanding.

In contrast with the old guidance, the new document:

  • references national planning policy framework and planning practice guidance;
  • recommends additional post-development monitoring on EIA sites;
  • refers to up-to-date policies and documents; and
  • does not have IOA endorsement.

For EIA sites, the new guidance recommends additional noise monitoring after the construction phase. This is largely to make sure that the development does not exceed the noise conditions outlined in the original assessment or the planning conditions stipulated by the local planning authority (LPA). While this seems logical, it is unlikely that any developer will be enthused by the prospect of having to pay for further survey work when it is not a legal obligation.

The updated guidance, unlike its predecessor, is not officially endorsed by the IOA, although several members have been contributors. This has led to a number of specialists who are not members of IEMA, either not having heard of it or even refusing to use it. This is not to say that the IOA will never give their endorsement, but it potentially reduces the status of the document.

Consultants at WYG have not dramatically altered the way they undertake noise impact assessments since reading the new guidance. Like many other consultancies, we have been following similar practices to those outlined in the guidance for some time. We have incorporated the methodology into several technical and EIA reports of different scales and experienced some positive effects as a result. The update has given us more back up when clients, LPAs, or objectors question our methodology. Having guidance which references up-to-date policies certainly holds more weight than one that is more than 10 years’ old.

In conclusion, this new guidance is not a world away from the draft guidance published over a decade ago, but it is more streamlined, updated and a better written document. The most important thing about its publication is to provide a succinct guide which can be used by people who are not noise specialists to help them understand of technical noise reports.

With thanks to Graham Davis, Nathan Allen, Erin Banks and Adrian Rous.

Subscribe

Subscribe to IEMA's newsletters to receive timely articles, expert opinions, event announcements, and much more, directly in your inbox.


Transform articles

New guidance maps out journey to digital environmental assessment

IEMA’s Impact Assessment Network is delighted to have published A Roadmap to Digital Environmental Assessment.

2nd April 2024

Read more

Lisa Pool on how IEMA is shaping a sustainable future with impact assessment

27th November 2023

Read more

IEMA responded in September to the UK government’s consultation on the details of the operational reforms it is looking to make to the Nationally Significant Infrastructure Projects (NSIP) consenting process as put forward in the NSIP reform action plan (February 2023).

24th November 2023

Read more

Members of IEMA’s Impact Assessment Network Steering Group have published the 17th edition of the Impact Assessment Outlook Journal, which provides a series of thought pieces on the policy and practice of habitats regulations assessment (HRA).

26th September 2023

Read more

In July, we published the long-awaited update and replacement of one of IEMA’s first published impact assessment guidance documents from 1993, Guidelines for the Environmental Assessment of Road Traffic.

1st August 2023

Read more

Are we losing sight of its intended purpose and what does the future hold for EIA? Jo Beech, Tiziana Bartolini and Jessamy Funnell report.

15th June 2023

Read more

Luke Barrows and Alfie Byron-Grange look at the barriers to adoption of digital environmental impacts assessments

1st June 2023

Read more

Susan Evans and Helen North consider how Environmental Statements can be more accessible and understandable

1st June 2023

Read more

Media enquires

Looking for an expert to speak at an event or comment on an item in the news?

Find an expert

IEMA Cookie Notice

Clicking the ‘Accept all’ button means you are accepting analytics and third-party cookies. Our website uses necessary cookies which are required in order to make our website work. In addition to these, we use analytics and third-party cookies to optimise site functionality and give you the best possible experience. To control which cookies are set, click ‘Settings’. To learn more about cookies, how we use them on our website and how to change your cookie settings please view our cookie policy.

Manage cookie settings

Our use of cookies

You can learn more detailed information in our cookie policy.

Some cookies are essential, but non-essential cookies help us to improve the experience on our site by providing insights into how the site is being used. To maintain privacy management, this relies on cookie identifiers. Resetting or deleting your browser cookies will reset these preferences.

Essential cookies

These are cookies that are required for the operation of our website. They include, for example, cookies that enable you to log into secure areas of our website.

Analytics cookies

These cookies allow us to recognise and count the number of visitors to our website and to see how visitors move around our website when they are using it. This helps us to improve the way our website works.

Advertising cookies

These cookies allow us to tailor advertising to you based on your interests. If you do not accept these cookies, you will still see adverts, but these will be more generic.

Save and close