Boy’s judicial review against Environment Agency granted

26th November 2021


In R. (on the application of Richards) v Environment Agency, the claimant applied for judicial review of the Agency’s approach to regulating hydrogen sulphide (H2S) emissions from a landfill site operated by the interested party, pursuant to an environmental permit issued by the Agency.

The claimant, a five-year-old boy, lived near the site. Born prematurely, he suffered from broncho-pulmonary dysplasia (BPD). His respiratory health was poor, and a consultant respiratory paediatrician instructed by the claimant concluded that his BPD and premature birth did not explain the severity of this condition. The consultant’s opinion was that exposure to H2S from the site was impairing the boy’s health and quality of life, and that continued exposure was likely to lead to chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), reducing his life expectancy.

A toxicologist and pathologist instructed by the interested party stated that any development of COPD would be the result of the claimant’s premature birth. Nevertheless, there were concerns in the local community about the smell from the site and the possibility it might impact local air quality and residents’ health.

On 5 August 2021, Public Health England (PHE) published a ‘Health Risk Assessment of Air Quality Monitoring results from March to June 2021’ regarding the site. This made clear that the 2021 emissions were above the WHO’s half-hour average guideline level of five parts per billion, and above the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) reference value of one part per billion. PHE recommended that all measures be taken to reduce off-site odours from the site as early as possible to meet the WHO guideline, and that all measures be taken to reduce H2S concentrations in the local area for 2022 below the EPA value.

The claimant submitted that the Agency had failed to discharge its duty under the Human Rights Act 1998 – specifically its duties under the European Convention of Human Rights article 2, to protect his right to life, and article 8, the right to respect for private and family life. He also argued that the Agency failed to discharge its public law duties at common law to act reasonably and take reasonable steps to acquaint itself with relevant information.

The judge concluded that the operational duties of the Agency were triggered. For article 2 it was necessary to establish either that the claimant’s condition constituted an inevitable precursor to the diagnosis of a relevant disease, or that his current condition was life-threatening. His BPD was an inevitable precursor to a serious life expectancy-reducing illness, attributable to ongoing exposure. For article 8, there was a direct effect on the claimant’s home, family life and private life from adverse effects of severe environmental pollution.

The Agency had taken reasonable and appropriate action of monitoring emissions levels and advice from PHE. However, there was no document before the court indicating how PHE’s risk assessment recommendation had been addressed, and the Agency had not adopted the discipline. Agency officials had not done what was required to comply with the applicable legal duties.

The judge stated: “I have made clear that I am not satisfied, on the evidence, that the Agency has yet addressed its legal duties in the way that it must. But there is an obvious and pressing public interest imperative that it must do so, as a matter of urgency. It is well able to do so”.

The application for judicial review was granted.

Image credit | Alamy

Subscribe

Subscribe to IEMA's newsletters to receive timely articles, expert opinions, event announcements, and much more, directly in your inbox.


Transform articles

UK government accused of attempting to relax sewage rules ‘through the backdoor’

Campaign group Wild Justice has accused the UK government of trying to relax pollution rules for housebuilders “through the backdoor”.

14th February 2024

Read more

Digital tracking, packaging data delays and new collections provide a waste focus for this edition’s environmental round-up by legislation expert Neil Howe

28th November 2023

Read more

Environmental crimes could result in prison sentences of up to 10 years and company fines of 5% of turnover under a proposed EU law agreed by the European parliament and council.

21st November 2023

Read more

Stuart McLachlan and Dean Sanders discuss their book: The Adventure of Sustainable Performance: Beyond ESG Compliance to Leadership in the New Era.

14th November 2023

Read more

From government compromises on retained EU law, to disposable vapes, Neil Howe provides an update on the ever-evolving world of environmental legislation

3rd August 2023

Read more

Litigation is becoming a key tool for delivering climate justice and action, with the number of court cases more than doubling worldwide in just five years, the UN Environment Programme (UNEP) has found.

27th July 2023

Read more

Media enquires

Looking for an expert to speak at an event or comment on an item in the news?

Find an expert

IEMA Cookie Notice

Clicking the ‘Accept all’ button means you are accepting analytics and third-party cookies. Our website uses necessary cookies which are required in order to make our website work. In addition to these, we use analytics and third-party cookies to optimise site functionality and give you the best possible experience. To control which cookies are set, click ‘Settings’. To learn more about cookies, how we use them on our website and how to change your cookie settings please view our cookie policy.

Manage cookie settings

Our use of cookies

You can learn more detailed information in our cookie policy.

Some cookies are essential, but non-essential cookies help us to improve the experience on our site by providing insights into how the site is being used. To maintain privacy management, this relies on cookie identifiers. Resetting or deleting your browser cookies will reset these preferences.

Essential cookies

These are cookies that are required for the operation of our website. They include, for example, cookies that enable you to log into secure areas of our website.

Analytics cookies

These cookies allow us to recognise and count the number of visitors to our website and to see how visitors move around our website when they are using it. This helps us to improve the way our website works.

Advertising cookies

These cookies allow us to tailor advertising to you based on your interests. If you do not accept these cookies, you will still see adverts, but these will be more generic.

Save and close