Businesses see benefits from review of energy efficiency

29th July 2015


Related Topics

Related tags

  • Management/saving ,
  • Business & Industry ,
  • Manufacturing

Author

Wendy Bowman

Business groups have welcomed the government's review of energy efficiency policies and taxes announced in the summer budget.

The review will consider the carbon reduction commitment energy efficiency scheme (CRC), the climate change levy (CCL) and climate change agreements (CCAs), and how they interact with other business energy efficiency policies and regulations. The CBI and manufacturers' trade body EEF are among business groups that called for the review.

Richard Warren, senior energy and environment policy adviser at EEF, said the organisation backed simplification. "The CRC is a fairly complex tax. It's not necessarily delivering what it was designed to do." Improvements in energy efficiency are not the primary aim of the review, which is being carried out by the Treasury.

"It's number one objective is that the revenue stream is intact," Warren said. CCLs generate around £800 million a year for the exchequer, while the CRC is worth some £900 million, he said. EEF would like new policies to be cost-neutral for business. The way the Treasury chooses to consolidate revenue streams from the current policies will be more expensive for some companies and less for others, Warren said.

Meanwhile, the CBI wants the review to consider the support given to energy-intensive industries, including current compensation packages and exemptions.

A report published by the energy and climate department (Decc) in July revealed that, although the CRC had driven energy efficiency investments in 56% of businesses, around half of CRC participants felt the scheme was not delivered efficiently or consistently. Businesses supported the creation of more consistent policy, but the report revealed a variety of opinions on how this should be done.

Subscribe

Subscribe to IEMA's newsletters to receive timely articles, expert opinions, event announcements, and much more, directly in your inbox.


Transform articles

Corporate clean power buying hits record high

Global corporations such as Amazon and Google purchased a record 46 gigawatts (GW) of solar and wind energy last year, according to BloombergNEF (BNEF).

13th February 2024

Read more

Three-quarters of UK adults are concerned about the impact that climate change will have on their bills, according to polling commissioned by Positive Money.

13th February 2024

Read more

The reality of delivering net zero is that we need solutions tailored to specific areas. Peter Gudde explores models that local authorities could adopt

15th January 2024

Read more

Heat pump installations in UK homes increased by nearly a fifth last year, with over 200,000 now having been installed across the country.

11th January 2024

Read more

Last year was the warmest ever recorded, surpassing the previous annual high set in 2016 by a large margin, scientists have confirmed today.

9th January 2024

Read more

This year’s COP28 climate summit concluded with an “historic” agreement between countries to “transition away from fossil fuels”, although the final Global Stocktake text has been described as containing “a litany of loopholes”.

14th December 2023

Read more

The huge quantities of data we generate online every day is having an increasingly negative impact on the environment. Chris Seekings examines what is being done to tackle the problem

30th November 2023

Read more

The Labour Party’s climate policy team took part in a panel discussion with IEMA representatives at Westminster this morning, outlining what they plan to do should they win the next general election.

29th November 2023

Read more

Media enquires

Looking for an expert to speak at an event or comment on an item in the news?

Find an expert

IEMA Cookie Notice

Clicking the ‘Accept all’ button means you are accepting analytics and third-party cookies. Our website uses necessary cookies which are required in order to make our website work. In addition to these, we use analytics and third-party cookies to optimise site functionality and give you the best possible experience. To control which cookies are set, click ‘Settings’. To learn more about cookies, how we use them on our website and how to change your cookie settings please view our cookie policy.

Manage cookie settings

Our use of cookies

You can learn more detailed information in our cookie policy.

Some cookies are essential, but non-essential cookies help us to improve the experience on our site by providing insights into how the site is being used. To maintain privacy management, this relies on cookie identifiers. Resetting or deleting your browser cookies will reset these preferences.

Essential cookies

These are cookies that are required for the operation of our website. They include, for example, cookies that enable you to log into secure areas of our website.

Analytics cookies

These cookies allow us to recognise and count the number of visitors to our website and to see how visitors move around our website when they are using it. This helps us to improve the way our website works.

Advertising cookies

These cookies allow us to tailor advertising to you based on your interests. If you do not accept these cookies, you will still see adverts, but these will be more generic.

Save and close