Agency reviews OPRA scheme

26th May 2017


Related Topics

Related tags

  • Business & Industry ,
  • Management ,
  • Corporate governance ,
  • Pollution & Waste Management ,
  • Prevention & Control

Author

Sarah-Aby Diop

The Environment Agency is reviewing the way it appraises sites that require environmental permits.

It is planning to replace the Operator Risk Appraisal (Opra) scheme for sites operating under the Environmental Permitting Regulations with a more holistic approach to monitor performance, according to an informal consultation paper from the regulator.

The current scheme ranks operators A to F, based on how well sites comply with the terms of their permits. It takes into account hazards relating to the nature and scale of activity and how close the facility is to receptors, such as people and wildlife habitats.

Under the proposed new scheme, the agency wants to also consider the likelihood of a breach in compliance, according to operators’ attitude and how they respond to advice given by the regulator.

This would enable it to identify early indications that a site might breach its permit, so it can intervene and focus resources on mitigating risk. The A to F rankings would be replaced by ‘exemplary’; ‘expected’; ‘improvement needed’; and ‘significant improvement needed’.

‘We want an approach that is fairer to industry, supports growth, and protects our environment and local communities,’ the consultation document states. It further says: ‘We want to make a system that not only describes an operators’ performance more accurately, but is also more reflective of the regulatory effort we have to apply.’

The new approach would also allow the agency to recognise operators that voluntarily make extra effort above compliance, and which would therefore need less effort to regulate.

These organisations would benefit from ‘light-touch’ regulation and a reduction in fees, the agency said. The regulator believes its plans would encourage self-reporting and recognise positive behaviour in addressing minor incidents.

The agency said the new scheme would enable it to focus on poorly performing sites where operators are unresponsive, obstructive or hostile. Such businesses would pay higher fees to cover additional agency costs.

The consultation asks opinions on what criteria the agency should assess under the new system. It plans to review responses and launch a formal consultation in July.

Subscribe

Subscribe to IEMA's newsletters to receive timely articles, expert opinions, event announcements, and much more, directly in your inbox.


Transform articles

IEMA reviews political party manifestos

Ahead of the UK general election next month, IEMA has analysed the Labour, Conservative, Liberal Democrat, and Green Party manifestos in relation to the sustainability agenda.

19th June 2024

Read more

Nine in 10 UK adults do not fully trust brands to accurately portray their climate commitments or follow the science all the time, a new survey has uncovered.

19th June 2024

Read more

Just one in 20 workers aged 27 and under have the skills needed to help drive the net-zero transition, compared with one in eight of the workforce as a whole, new LinkedIn data suggests.

18th June 2024

Read more

Consumers are flexing their purchasing power in support of more sustainable products and services. Dr Andrew Coburn, CEO of sustainability intelligence and analytics firm, Risilience, considers the risk of greenwashing and sets out three key steps businesses can take to avoid the pitfalls and meet the opportunities of changing consumer demand.

18th June 2024

Read more

With a Taskforce on Inequality and Social-related Financial Disclosures in the pipeline, Beth Knight talks to Chris Seekings about increased recognition of social sustainability

6th June 2024

Read more

While biodiversity net gain is now making inroads, marine net gain is still in its infancy. Ed Walker explores the balance between enabling development and safeguarding our marine environment

6th June 2024

Read more

David Symons, FIEMA, director of sustainability at WSP, and IEMA’s Lesley Wilson, tell Chris Seekings why a growing number of organisations are turning to nature-based solutions to meet their climate goals

6th June 2024

Read more

Sarah Spencer on the clear case for stronger partnerships between farmers and renewable energy developers

6th June 2024

Read more

Media enquires

Looking for an expert to speak at an event or comment on an item in the news?

Find an expert

IEMA Cookie Notice

Clicking the ‘Accept all’ button means you are accepting analytics and third-party cookies. Our website uses necessary cookies which are required in order to make our website work. In addition to these, we use analytics and third-party cookies to optimise site functionality and give you the best possible experience. To control which cookies are set, click ‘Settings’. To learn more about cookies, how we use them on our website and how to change your cookie settings please view our cookie policy.

Manage cookie settings

Our use of cookies

You can learn more detailed information in our cookie policy.

Some cookies are essential, but non-essential cookies help us to improve the experience on our site by providing insights into how the site is being used. To maintain privacy management, this relies on cookie identifiers. Resetting or deleting your browser cookies will reset these preferences.

Essential cookies

These are cookies that are required for the operation of our website. They include, for example, cookies that enable you to log into secure areas of our website.

Analytics cookies

These cookies allow us to recognise and count the number of visitors to our website and to see how visitors move around our website when they are using it. This helps us to improve the way our website works.

Advertising cookies

These cookies allow us to tailor advertising to you based on your interests. If you do not accept these cookies, you will still see adverts, but these will be more generic.

Save and close