Members voted in new articles of association at the 2016 AGM. Find out more here.

IEMA’s annual general meeting was held on Wednesday 21st September, where members confirmed the appointment of three new Non-Executive Directors. We are delighted to welcome Simon Catford (HR and Regulatory Director, Viridor), Eileen Donnelly (Head of Values and Ethics, The Co-operative Bank) and Paul Leinster (Professor of Environmental Assessment – Cranfield University) to their new positions on the IEMA Board.

At this meeting the minutes of the previous AGM were confirmed, the Directors’ report and accounts for 2015 were accepted and Streets LLP Auditors were reappointed and their remuneration fixed for the coming year.

A special business agenda item – to consider a Special Resolution to change the Articles of Association to enable the reappointment of a Non-Executive Director for a third term of 3 years under exceptional circumstances – was also successfully voted in by members present at the AGM and those who had submitted a postal or proxy vote. The Special Resolution was proposed by the IEMA Board as a measure to support and continue IEMA’s current direction and development. Following adoption of the resolution by members, it allowed the second special business item – to reappoint current IEMA Chair Diana Montgomery as a Non-Executive Director for a third term – to be passed. Diana will remain in post as Chair for an additional term of up to 3 years.

The full Articles of Association are now being updated to incorporate the changes voted for by members, and will be published on in the coming weeks along with the draft minutes of the AGM.


Subscribe to IEMA's newsletters to receive timely articles, expert opinions, event announcements, and much more, directly in your inbox.