Judicial review against hen harriers brood management trial dismissed

30th May 2019


Web hen harrier shutterstock 591946517

Related Topics

Related tags

  • Wildlife & Habitats ,
  • Environmental Agencies

Author

IEMA

An application for judicial review of a decision by Natural England has been dismissed.

The Royal Society for the Protection of Birds (RSPB), and scientist and conservation campaigner Dr Avery, applied for judicial review against the decision to grant licence to conduct a trial into the brood management of hen harriers pursuant to the Wildlife and Countryside Act 1981.

Hen harriers are protected by the Wild Birds Directive 2009/147/EC. However, hen harriers were being illegally killed and their nests destroyed because they feed grouse chicks to their young – harming the grouse-shooting industry.

Natural England proposed a scheme that would remove hen harrier eggs and chicks from nests, rear them in captivity, and release them away from grouse moors when fledged. It wanted to hold a trial to investigate the effect of brood management on the behaviour of the moorland community, and to investigate whether it could rear hen harriers in captivity and release them to become successful breeding adults in the English uplands.

The RSPB and Avery said the scheme was unlawful because of the disturbance it would cause to hen harriers. They also claimed that Natural England had misapplied the Wildlife and Countryside Act 1981 by treating the purpose of the licence solely as research and not including the conservation of hen harriers, despite conservation being the ultimate purpose.

The judge concluded that Natural England's interpretation of the 1981 Act was correct and that there was no evidence it was trying to avoid the statutory purpose of conservation of an endangered species. The scheme of care for the hen harriers was adequately secured and it was clear that Natural England's purpose was to further conservation, not to protect the grouse-shooting industry.

Image credit: Shutterstock

Subscribe

Subscribe to IEMA's newsletters to receive timely articles, expert opinions, event announcements, and much more, directly in your inbox.


Transform articles

UK’s net-zero economy grows by 9%

The UK’s net-zero economy grew 9% last year while delivering higher paid jobs than average and attracting billions of pounds in private investment, analysis by CBI Economics has uncovered.

28th February 2024

Read more

A consortium including IEMA and the Good Homes Alliance have drafted a letter to UK government ministers expressing disappointment with the proposed Future Homes Standard.

26th February 2024

Read more

Campaign group Wild Justice has accused the UK government of trying to relax pollution rules for housebuilders “through the backdoor”.

14th February 2024

Read more

Three-quarters of UK adults are concerned about the impact that climate change will have on their bills, according to polling commissioned by Positive Money.

13th February 2024

Read more

All major housing developments in England will be required by law to deliver at least a 10% increase in biodiversity under new rules that came into force today.

12th February 2024

Read more

The crisis engulfing nature poses a massive risk to the global economy. Huw Morris reports on how the finance sector is adopting new measures for disclosing business activities and channelling investment

1st February 2024

Read more

Fossil fuel companies may soon be forced to pay out billions for their role in the climate crisis. Trial lawyer Jeffrey B Simon tells Chris Seekings about his groundbreaking lawsuit in the US

1st February 2024

Read more

Decarbonising the global economy will require a financing shift of historic proportions. Vivienne Russell assesses the scale of the challenge, the barriers and the opportunities

1st February 2024

Read more

Media enquires

Looking for an expert to speak at an event or comment on an item in the news?

Find an expert

IEMA Cookie Notice

Clicking the ‘Accept all’ button means you are accepting analytics and third-party cookies. Our website uses necessary cookies which are required in order to make our website work. In addition to these, we use analytics and third-party cookies to optimise site functionality and give you the best possible experience. To control which cookies are set, click ‘Settings’. To learn more about cookies, how we use them on our website and how to change your cookie settings please view our cookie policy.

Manage cookie settings

Our use of cookies

You can learn more detailed information in our cookie policy.

Some cookies are essential, but non-essential cookies help us to improve the experience on our site by providing insights into how the site is being used. To maintain privacy management, this relies on cookie identifiers. Resetting or deleting your browser cookies will reset these preferences.

Essential cookies

These are cookies that are required for the operation of our website. They include, for example, cookies that enable you to log into secure areas of our website.

Analytics cookies

These cookies allow us to recognise and count the number of visitors to our website and to see how visitors move around our website when they are using it. This helps us to improve the way our website works.

Advertising cookies

These cookies allow us to tailor advertising to you based on your interests. If you do not accept these cookies, you will still see adverts, but these will be more generic.

Save and close