Independent Review of the Modern Slavery Act 2015

2nd July 2019


Web p9 modern slavery istock 108223453

Related Topics

Related tags

  • Local government ,
  • Legislation

Author

IEMA

British nationals made up the highest number of UK slavery cases in 2017, with 5,145 potential victims of trafficking and slavery.

In response, the UK government commissioned an independent review of the Modern Slavery Act 2015 (MSA) in August 2018, in order to strengthen and enhance the current legislation as the nature of modern slavery evolves.

IEMA policy lead Marc Jourdan oversaw IEMA's participation in the review by conducting a member-wide survey. IEMA used those results to submit its recommendations to the secretariat of this independent review. The recommendations can be viewed here.

The final report of the independent review was laid in Parliament on Wednesday 22 May, and a government response is expected in due course. The document is available at bit.ly/31sBH2D. IEMA led a webinar on the interim review findings in April with the participation of Baroness Young of Hornsey, an official expert advisor for the review. The webinar can be viewed here.

IEMA welcomes the findings of this report, which mirror its own recommendations in calling for the independent anti-slavery commissioner to have stronger monitoring powers so that it can hold government agencies to account. The report also echoed IEMA's demands on transparency in supply chains, stressing that legislation should mandate the areas companies are expected to report on, and that section 54 requirements should be extended to the public sector while making necessary reforms to strengthen the government's approach to non-compliance with the MSA. These reforms could include fines and directors' disqualification.

If you wish to participate in further engagement activities around the topic of modern slavery or social sustainability more generally, please contact Marc Jourdan at [email protected]

Subscribe

Subscribe to IEMA's newsletters to receive timely articles, expert opinions, event announcements, and much more, directly in your inbox.


Transform articles

IEMA reviews political party manifestos

Ahead of the UK general election next month, IEMA has analysed the Labour, Conservative, Liberal Democrat, and Green Party manifestos in relation to the sustainability agenda.

19th June 2024

Read more

Disinformation about the impossibility of averting the climate crisis is part of an alarming turn in denialist tactics, writes David Burrows

6th June 2024

Read more

Rivers and waterways across England and Wales are increasingly polluted by sewage spills. What is causing the crisis and what is being done to tackle it? Huw Morris reports

31st May 2024

Read more

IEMA submits response to the Future Homes Standard consultation

31st May 2024

Read more

In January, the Welsh government consulted on a proposed white paper, 'Securing a Sustainable Future: Environmental Principles, Governance and Biodiversity Targets for a Greener Wales'.

31st May 2024

Read more

Gillian Gibson calls for urgent action to avoid environmental tipping points

20th May 2024

Read more

Media enquires

Looking for an expert to speak at an event or comment on an item in the news?

Find an expert

IEMA Cookie Notice

Clicking the ‘Accept all’ button means you are accepting analytics and third-party cookies. Our website uses necessary cookies which are required in order to make our website work. In addition to these, we use analytics and third-party cookies to optimise site functionality and give you the best possible experience. To control which cookies are set, click ‘Settings’. To learn more about cookies, how we use them on our website and how to change your cookie settings please view our cookie policy.

Manage cookie settings

Our use of cookies

You can learn more detailed information in our cookie policy.

Some cookies are essential, but non-essential cookies help us to improve the experience on our site by providing insights into how the site is being used. To maintain privacy management, this relies on cookie identifiers. Resetting or deleting your browser cookies will reset these preferences.

Essential cookies

These are cookies that are required for the operation of our website. They include, for example, cookies that enable you to log into secure areas of our website.

Analytics cookies

These cookies allow us to recognise and count the number of visitors to our website and to see how visitors move around our website when they are using it. This helps us to improve the way our website works.

Advertising cookies

These cookies allow us to tailor advertising to you based on your interests. If you do not accept these cookies, you will still see adverts, but these will be more generic.

Save and close