Energy efficiency at risk from tax review

11th November 2013


Cameron

Related Topics

Related tags

  • Business & Industry ,
  • Procurement ,
  • Energy ,
  • Mitigation

Author

IEMA

The prime minister has announced plans to review environment "levies" as a way rein in rising energy bills, but it is unclear which charges will come under scrutiny

Confusion has been caused because energy minister Michael Fallon has disputed Decc’s confirmation that support for renewables would not be part of the appraisal.

In a statement, the energy department had confirmed: “No one is talking about changing investment incentives for renewables, such as the renewables obligation and feed-in tariffs, which are essential for investor confidence in the renewables sector.”

However, Fallon, appearing before the environmental audit committee, said that all levies would be under the microscope.

The confusion follows David Cameron’s statement to parliament that government needed to “roll back” some of the green regulations and charges that are putting up bills”.

Businesses operating in the built environment have warned the government not to scale back levies on energy bills that support energy efficiency. A letter to the prime minister from chief executives at a number of firms, including E.ON, Carillion and Willmott Dixon, argues that energy efficiency is the “only sure way” to protect against rising bills in the long term.

The warning follows evidence that it is difficult for companies to access finance to invest in energy efficiency.

In a poll of more than 300 energy specialists across the UK, conducted by Siemens Industry and the Energy Institute, 88% said that banks were either not interested in supporting investment in energy-saving technologies or provided “little feedback”. Just one respondent reported having actually received finance for an energy-efficiency initiative.

Higher capital allowances for firms wanting to invest in energy-efficient equipment and the creation of the Green Investment Bank were positive moves, commented Stephen Barker, head of energy efficiency at Siemens. “But the effectiveness of these measures is limited as there is a critical gap in the actual delivery of finance,” he argued.

Subscribe

Subscribe to IEMA's newsletters to receive timely articles, expert opinions, event announcements, and much more, directly in your inbox.


Transform articles

Majority of environmental professionals fear green skills gap

Almost three-fifths of UK environmental professionals feel there is a green skills gap across the country’s workforce, or that there will be, a new survey has uncovered.

4th July 2024

Read more

Climate hazards such as flooding, droughts and extreme heat are threatening eight in 10 of the world’s cities, new research from CDP has uncovered.

3rd July 2024

Read more

Ahead of the UK general election next month, IEMA has analysed the Labour, Conservative, Liberal Democrat, and Green Party manifestos in relation to the sustainability agenda.

19th June 2024

Read more

Nine in 10 UK adults do not fully trust brands to accurately portray their climate commitments or follow the science all the time, a new survey has uncovered.

19th June 2024

Read more

Just one in 20 workers aged 27 and under have the skills needed to help drive the net-zero transition, compared with one in eight of the workforce as a whole, new LinkedIn data suggests.

18th June 2024

Read more

With a Taskforce on Inequality and Social-related Financial Disclosures in the pipeline, Beth Knight talks to Chris Seekings about increased recognition of social sustainability

6th June 2024

Read more

Disinformation about the impossibility of averting the climate crisis is part of an alarming turn in denialist tactics, writes David Burrows

6th June 2024

Read more

David Symons, FIEMA, director of sustainability at WSP, and IEMA’s Lesley Wilson, tell Chris Seekings why a growing number of organisations are turning to nature-based solutions to meet their climate goals

6th June 2024

Read more

Media enquires

Looking for an expert to speak at an event or comment on an item in the news?

Find an expert

IEMA Cookie Notice

Clicking the ‘Accept all’ button means you are accepting analytics and third-party cookies. Our website uses necessary cookies which are required in order to make our website work. In addition to these, we use analytics and third-party cookies to optimise site functionality and give you the best possible experience. To control which cookies are set, click ‘Settings’. To learn more about cookies, how we use them on our website and how to change your cookie settings please view our cookie policy.

Manage cookie settings

Our use of cookies

You can learn more detailed information in our cookie policy.

Some cookies are essential, but non-essential cookies help us to improve the experience on our site by providing insights into how the site is being used. To maintain privacy management, this relies on cookie identifiers. Resetting or deleting your browser cookies will reset these preferences.

Essential cookies

These are cookies that are required for the operation of our website. They include, for example, cookies that enable you to log into secure areas of our website.

Analytics cookies

These cookies allow us to recognise and count the number of visitors to our website and to see how visitors move around our website when they are using it. This helps us to improve the way our website works.

Advertising cookies

These cookies allow us to tailor advertising to you based on your interests. If you do not accept these cookies, you will still see adverts, but these will be more generic.

Save and close