Ebook review: Working collaboratively by Penny Walker

14th January 2014


Related Topics

Related tags

  • Employee engagement ,
  • EMS ,
  • Management ,
  • Reviews ,
  • Engagement

Author

Grace Lloyd Jones

Working collaboratively

Penny Walker / Do Sustainability / ebook / £30 / ISBN: 978-1-909293-79-3

This ebook is one of the “Do shorts” series, which outlines the principles and best practices required to work effectively in sustainability. It aims to identify and summarise the methods through which organisations collaborate.

The ebook is presented in an attractive and easy-to-read style by an author who has taken great care to ensure her writing works in such an extremely concise format. Helpful tables and matrices are displayed throughout the book to help the reader understand the challenges associated with collaboration systems and, most importantly, potential solutions.

Particularly effective is the use of real-life situations and collaborative initiatives from industry to explain the process from start to finish and to highlight the obstacles that were faced. The book outlines, for example, the most successful face-to-face techniques used during workshops and in meetings to create a unified goal among diverse parties.

This Do short is extremely comprehensive and I thoroughly recommend it for anyone considering taking part or leading a collaborative initiative at any level of an organisation.

David Dowson, AIEMA, sustainability adviser at Skanska

Subscribe

Subscribe to IEMA's newsletters to receive timely articles, expert opinions, event announcements, and much more, directly in your inbox.


Transform articles

Companies ‘greenstalling’ due to fear of unfair scrutiny of climate efforts

Large businesses across the world are avoiding climate action due to fear they will be called out for getting their work wrong, according to a new Carbon Trust report.

29th February 2024

Read more

A thought-provoking discussion on how storytelling can change the world took place in Central London last night, alongside an exclusive sneak preview of an upcoming IEMA film series.

29th February 2024

Read more

The UK’s net-zero economy grew 9% last year while delivering higher paid jobs than average and attracting billions of pounds in private investment, analysis by CBI Economics has uncovered.

28th February 2024

Read more

A consortium including IEMA and the Good Homes Alliance have drafted a letter to UK government ministers expressing disappointment with the proposed Future Homes Standard.

26th February 2024

Read more

IEMA and the Institute and Faculty of Actuaries (IFoA) have today published up-to-date guidance to help companies and individuals understand climate-related financial information.

22nd February 2024

Read more

Campaign group Wild Justice has accused the UK government of trying to relax pollution rules for housebuilders “through the backdoor”.

14th February 2024

Read more

Global corporations such as Amazon and Google purchased a record 46 gigawatts (GW) of solar and wind energy last year, according to BloombergNEF (BNEF).

13th February 2024

Read more

Three-quarters of UK adults are concerned about the impact that climate change will have on their bills, according to polling commissioned by Positive Money.

13th February 2024

Read more

Media enquires

Looking for an expert to speak at an event or comment on an item in the news?

Find an expert

IEMA Cookie Notice

Clicking the ‘Accept all’ button means you are accepting analytics and third-party cookies. Our website uses necessary cookies which are required in order to make our website work. In addition to these, we use analytics and third-party cookies to optimise site functionality and give you the best possible experience. To control which cookies are set, click ‘Settings’. To learn more about cookies, how we use them on our website and how to change your cookie settings please view our cookie policy.

Manage cookie settings

Our use of cookies

You can learn more detailed information in our cookie policy.

Some cookies are essential, but non-essential cookies help us to improve the experience on our site by providing insights into how the site is being used. To maintain privacy management, this relies on cookie identifiers. Resetting or deleting your browser cookies will reset these preferences.

Essential cookies

These are cookies that are required for the operation of our website. They include, for example, cookies that enable you to log into secure areas of our website.

Analytics cookies

These cookies allow us to recognise and count the number of visitors to our website and to see how visitors move around our website when they are using it. This helps us to improve the way our website works.

Advertising cookies

These cookies allow us to tailor advertising to you based on your interests. If you do not accept these cookies, you will still see adverts, but these will be more generic.

Save and close