Ebook review: Promoting sustainable behaviour

9th August 2013


Related Topics

Related tags

  • Reviews ,
  • Employee engagement ,
  • Engagement

Author

IEMA

Promoting sustainable behaviour

Adam Corner / Do Sustainability / ebook £30 / ISBN 978-1-9092-9325-0

This 62-page ebook is a concise and thoughtful explanation as to how sustainable behaviour can be achieved in households and organisations. It gives the reader an understanding as to why sustainability is, on the whole, not adopted as a personal or organisational core value.

Particularly insightful is chapter five, which looks at how we can change behaviour without using scare tactics. It argues that using images of nature being harmed is not an effective way of promoting sustainability, and that positive actions relating to everyday activities can be far more successful.

Throughout the book, the various theories cited are explained using real-life examples, or through website links to more information. This brings the book to life. You can download the ebook to various devices or read it directly through the publisher’s website.

I do, however, have two small gripes. The first is that I couldn’t download the book to my Kindle from the website although I am assured you can from Amazon. The second is that, although the book is insightful, the cost may be prohibitive for some.

If you would like a thought-provoking two-hour read on promoting sustainable behaviour, I would recommend this.

Andrew Fletcher, AIEMA, commercial director at ESP.

IEMA members can claim a 15% discount on Do Sustainability titles by quoting code: IEMA15

Subscribe

Subscribe to IEMA's newsletters to receive timely articles, expert opinions, event announcements, and much more, directly in your inbox.


Transform articles

Renewables account for almost half of Britain’s power generation

Solar power generation hit a new high in the last quarter as renewables accounted for almost half of Britain’s energy production, according to a report from Montel Analytics.

18th July 2024

Read more

Only a third of the emission reductions required for the UK to achieve net zero by 2030 are covered by credible plans, the Climate Change Committee (CCC) has warned today.

18th July 2024

Read more

Almost three-fifths of UK environmental professionals feel there is a green skills gap across the country’s workforce, or that there will be, a new survey has uncovered.

4th July 2024

Read more

Climate hazards such as flooding, droughts and extreme heat are threatening eight in 10 of the world’s cities, new research from CDP has uncovered.

3rd July 2024

Read more

Three in five British adults want more public involvement in the planning system, which could be at odds with Labour’s plans to boost economic growth, IEMA research has found.

3rd July 2024

Read more

Ahead of the UK general election next month, IEMA has analysed the Labour, Conservative, Liberal Democrat, and Green Party manifestos in relation to the sustainability agenda.

19th June 2024

Read more

Nine in 10 UK adults do not fully trust brands to accurately portray their climate commitments or follow the science all the time, a new survey has uncovered.

19th June 2024

Read more

Just one in 20 workers aged 27 and under have the skills needed to help drive the net-zero transition, compared with one in eight of the workforce as a whole, new LinkedIn data suggests.

18th June 2024

Read more

Media enquires

Looking for an expert to speak at an event or comment on an item in the news?

Find an expert

IEMA Cookie Notice

Clicking the ‘Accept all’ button means you are accepting analytics and third-party cookies. Our website uses necessary cookies which are required in order to make our website work. In addition to these, we use analytics and third-party cookies to optimise site functionality and give you the best possible experience. To control which cookies are set, click ‘Settings’. To learn more about cookies, how we use them on our website and how to change your cookie settings please view our cookie policy.

Manage cookie settings

Our use of cookies

You can learn more detailed information in our cookie policy.

Some cookies are essential, but non-essential cookies help us to improve the experience on our site by providing insights into how the site is being used. To maintain privacy management, this relies on cookie identifiers. Resetting or deleting your browser cookies will reset these preferences.

Essential cookies

These are cookies that are required for the operation of our website. They include, for example, cookies that enable you to log into secure areas of our website.

Analytics cookies

These cookies allow us to recognise and count the number of visitors to our website and to see how visitors move around our website when they are using it. This helps us to improve the way our website works.

Advertising cookies

These cookies allow us to tailor advertising to you based on your interests. If you do not accept these cookies, you will still see adverts, but these will be more generic.

Save and close