Book review: Introduction to environmental impact assessment (fourth edition)

13th June 2012


Related tags

  • Reviews

Author

IEMA

Introduction to environmental impact assessment (fourth edition)

John Glasson, Riki Therivel and Andrew Chadwick / Routledge / Paperback £32.99 / ISBN: 978–0–415–66470–7

When the fourth edition of this book landed on my desk, the names Glasson, Therivel and Chadwick immediately took me back to university and how the second edition was fundamental to developing my initial understanding of EIA.

Time has passed and I now regularly converse with the authors on developments and future directions in practice. However, that memory did make me wonder how many environment professionals, in the UK and internationally, owe a substantive part of their fundamental understanding of EIA to this book, or its predecessors – the first edition was published in 1994.

The opening chapters of the new version are dedicated to setting out the principles, origins and development of EIA, starting from the international perspective and then focusing on the UK.

Next, it discusses the EIA process, with information usefully interspersed with updated advice from the sector, including references to guidance in IEMA’s 2011 EIA report and a number of micro case studies.

Part three focuses on EIA practice and is where the most substantive updates are to be found. These chapters consider UK practice, covering the 2011 EIA Regulations and the implications from key pieces of case law. A series of case studies covers both EIA and strategic environmental assessment with a focus on energy and transport infrastructure.

The final section examines future prospects for EIA, including how to make it more effective, with advice on assessing climate change, health, equality, socioeconomic and cumulative effects.

This book is clearly more than a simple “introduction” to EIA, and with each chapter closing with a series of questions – designed to enhance learning – it is clear that it will be of great value as a textbook.


Review by Josh Fothergill, IEMA policy and practice lead on EIA

Subscribe

Subscribe to IEMA's newsletters to receive timely articles, expert opinions, event announcements, and much more, directly in your inbox.


Transform articles

EU and UK citizens fear net-zero delivery deficit

Support for net zero remains high across the UK and the EU, but the majority of citizens don't believe that major emitters and governments will reach their climate targets in time.

16th May 2024

Read more

There is strong support for renewable energy as a source of economic growth among UK voters, particularly among those intending to switch their support for a political party.

16th May 2024

Read more

Despite cost-of-living concerns, four-fifths of shoppers are willing to pay more for sustainably produced or sourced goods, a global survey has found.

16th May 2024

Read more

One in five UK food businesses are not prepared for EU Deforestation Regulation (EUDR) coming into force in December, a new survey has uncovered.

16th May 2024

Read more

Each person in the UK throws a shocking 35 items of unwanted clothes and textiles into general waste every year on average, according to a new report from WRAP.

2nd May 2024

Read more

Taxing the extraction of fossil fuels in the world’s most advanced economies could raise $720bn (£575bn) by 2030 to support vulnerable countries facing climate damages, analysis has found.

2nd May 2024

Read more

The largest-ever research initiative of its kind has been launched this week to establish a benchmark for the private sector’s contribution to the UK’s 2050 net-zero target.

2nd May 2024

Read more

Weather-related damage to homes and businesses saw insurance claims hit a record high in the UK last year following a succession of storms.

18th April 2024

Read more

Media enquires

Looking for an expert to speak at an event or comment on an item in the news?

Find an expert

IEMA Cookie Notice

Clicking the ‘Accept all’ button means you are accepting analytics and third-party cookies. Our website uses necessary cookies which are required in order to make our website work. In addition to these, we use analytics and third-party cookies to optimise site functionality and give you the best possible experience. To control which cookies are set, click ‘Settings’. To learn more about cookies, how we use them on our website and how to change your cookie settings please view our cookie policy.

Manage cookie settings

Our use of cookies

You can learn more detailed information in our cookie policy.

Some cookies are essential, but non-essential cookies help us to improve the experience on our site by providing insights into how the site is being used. To maintain privacy management, this relies on cookie identifiers. Resetting or deleting your browser cookies will reset these preferences.

Essential cookies

These are cookies that are required for the operation of our website. They include, for example, cookies that enable you to log into secure areas of our website.

Analytics cookies

These cookies allow us to recognise and count the number of visitors to our website and to see how visitors move around our website when they are using it. This helps us to improve the way our website works.

Advertising cookies

These cookies allow us to tailor advertising to you based on your interests. If you do not accept these cookies, you will still see adverts, but these will be more generic.

Save and close