Book review: Gross domestic problem

9th August 2013


Related tags

  • Reviews

Author

IEMA

Gross domestic problem

Lorenzo Fioramonti / Zed Books / Paperback £30 / ISBN 978-1-7803-2272-8

Gross domestic product (GDP) is often used to explain the world. For Lorenzo Fioramonti, the term symbolises the destructive character of capitalist society and is a primary cause of our social and environmental crises today.

The concept of GDP, and the way it is calculated, is rooted in the Great Depression, and was developed in the US plans for engagement in World War II and during the Cold War.

GDP was a driver of consumerism and militarism because consumption and weapons could be counted, and Fioramonti doesn’t contradict the argument that it can be a powerful tool. US generals, for example, saw it transform their ability to decide how much production could be shifted to war purposes from consumer products.

But what of now? Curiously there is no shortage of people who contend that GDP is a highly inaccurate or misleading metric.

Many economists, international bodies and NGOs have tried to develop an alternative for measuring what counts. Yet GDP rests unrivalled. Through economic turmoil, conservative voices have urged the continued need for growth.

However, Fioramonti’s hopes lie in the range of community initiatives, such as local money systems, which seek to dethrone GDP.

One of the pleasures of reading history is the nudge that the commonplace is not there by chance. This book is more of a hefty shove to a standard world view.

Few will instinctively align themselves with the author’s anti-corporate perspective, but environmentalists are likely to be provoked into rethinking how the approach taken to measuring their organisation’s performance has played a constructive role in assessing how well we are doing as a world.

Mike Peirce, director at University of Cambridge programme for sustainability leadership.

Subscribe

Subscribe to IEMA's newsletters to receive timely articles, expert opinions, event announcements, and much more, directly in your inbox.


Transform articles

How much is too much?

While there is no silver bullet for tackling climate change and social injustice, there is one controversial solution: the abolition of the super-rich. Chris Seekings explains more

4th April 2024

Read more

One of the world’s most influential management thinkers, Andrew Winston sees many reasons for hope as pessimism looms large in sustainability. Huw Morris reports

4th April 2024

Read more

Vanessa Champion reveals how biophilic design can help you meet your environmental, social and governance goals

4th April 2024

Read more

Alex Veitch from the British Chambers of Commerce and IEMA’s Ben Goodwin discuss with Chris Seekings how to unlock the potential of UK businesses

4th April 2024

Read more

Regulatory gaps between the EU and UK are beginning to appear, warns Neil Howe in this edition’s environmental legislation round-up

4th April 2024

Read more

A project promoter’s perspective on the environmental challenges facing new subsea power cables

3rd April 2024

Read more

Senior consultant, EcoAct

3rd April 2024

Read more

Five of the latest books on the environment and sustainability

3rd April 2024

Read more

Media enquires

Looking for an expert to speak at an event or comment on an item in the news?

Find an expert

IEMA Cookie Notice

Clicking the ‘Accept all’ button means you are accepting analytics and third-party cookies. Our website uses necessary cookies which are required in order to make our website work. In addition to these, we use analytics and third-party cookies to optimise site functionality and give you the best possible experience. To control which cookies are set, click ‘Settings’. To learn more about cookies, how we use them on our website and how to change your cookie settings please view our cookie policy.

Manage cookie settings

Our use of cookies

You can learn more detailed information in our cookie policy.

Some cookies are essential, but non-essential cookies help us to improve the experience on our site by providing insights into how the site is being used. To maintain privacy management, this relies on cookie identifiers. Resetting or deleting your browser cookies will reset these preferences.

Essential cookies

These are cookies that are required for the operation of our website. They include, for example, cookies that enable you to log into secure areas of our website.

Analytics cookies

These cookies allow us to recognise and count the number of visitors to our website and to see how visitors move around our website when they are using it. This helps us to improve the way our website works.

Advertising cookies

These cookies allow us to tailor advertising to you based on your interests. If you do not accept these cookies, you will still see adverts, but these will be more generic.

Save and close