Book review: Corporate water strategies

9th May 2011


Related Topics

Related tags

  • Reviews ,
  • Management ,
  • EMS ,
  • Natural resources ,
  • Ecodesign

Author

IEMA

Corporate water strategies

William Sarni / Earthscan / Hardback: £49.99 / ISBN: 978–1–84971–185–2

Just 3% of the world’s water is fresh water, and two-thirds of that is either frozen or buried deep underground, leaving only 1% readily available for human use.

Most businesses rely on supplies of fresh water to some extent and water scarcity is increasingly a concern.

In this book, David Sarni argues that organisations can no longer continue to view water as a minimal operational cost rather than a strategic issue.

He explains why businesses need to embed water stewardship into their long-term strategies, claiming that those adopting a smart-water strategy can gain competitive advantage.

Sarni provides a roadmap for organisations wanting to develop and implement a successful water strategy, using corporate examples from various sectors with high water-use, including the food and beverage, and semiconductor industries.

Importantly, Sarni highlights the difference between carbon and water, and explains why organisations cannot simply transfer their carbon or energy strategies to water.

An excellent introduction to global water issues, as well as a good guide to how a business can address increasing water scarcity.

Subscribe

Subscribe to IEMA's newsletters to receive timely articles, expert opinions, event announcements, and much more, directly in your inbox.


Transform articles

Swing voters show strong support for renewables

There is strong support for renewable energy as a source of economic growth among UK voters, particularly among those intending to switch their support for a political party.

16th May 2024

Read more

A project promoter’s perspective on the environmental challenges facing new subsea power cables

3rd April 2024

Read more

The UK’s major cities lag well behind their European counterparts in terms of public transport use. Linking development to transport routes might be the answer, argues Huw Morris

3rd April 2024

Read more

Tom Harris examines the supply chain constraints facing the growing number of interconnector projects

2nd April 2024

Read more

The UK government’s carbon capture, usage and storage (CCUS) strategy is based on optimistic techno-economic assumptions that are now outdated, Carbon Tracker has warned.

13th March 2024

Read more

The UK government’s latest Public Attitudes Tracker has found broad support for efforts to tackle climate change, although there are significant concerns that bills will rise.

13th March 2024

Read more

A consortium including IEMA and the Good Homes Alliance have drafted a letter to UK government ministers expressing disappointment with the proposed Future Homes Standard.

26th February 2024

Read more

Global corporations such as Amazon and Google purchased a record 46 gigawatts (GW) of solar and wind energy last year, according to BloombergNEF (BNEF).

13th February 2024

Read more

Media enquires

Looking for an expert to speak at an event or comment on an item in the news?

Find an expert

IEMA Cookie Notice

Clicking the ‘Accept all’ button means you are accepting analytics and third-party cookies. Our website uses necessary cookies which are required in order to make our website work. In addition to these, we use analytics and third-party cookies to optimise site functionality and give you the best possible experience. To control which cookies are set, click ‘Settings’. To learn more about cookies, how we use them on our website and how to change your cookie settings please view our cookie policy.

Manage cookie settings

Our use of cookies

You can learn more detailed information in our cookie policy.

Some cookies are essential, but non-essential cookies help us to improve the experience on our site by providing insights into how the site is being used. To maintain privacy management, this relies on cookie identifiers. Resetting or deleting your browser cookies will reset these preferences.

Essential cookies

These are cookies that are required for the operation of our website. They include, for example, cookies that enable you to log into secure areas of our website.

Analytics cookies

These cookies allow us to recognise and count the number of visitors to our website and to see how visitors move around our website when they are using it. This helps us to improve the way our website works.

Advertising cookies

These cookies allow us to tailor advertising to you based on your interests. If you do not accept these cookies, you will still see adverts, but these will be more generic.

Save and close