Book review: Common ground

10th May 2012


Related Topics

Related tags

  • Ecosystems ,
  • Biodiversity ,
  • Natural resources ,
  • Reviews

Author

IEMA

Common ground – the sharing of land and landscapes for sustainability

Mark Everard / Zed Books / Paperback £18.99 / ISBN: 978–1–84813–962–6

A regular contributor to the environmentalist and author of the opening chapters of The IEMA handbook, Dr Mark Everard in his latest fascinating book examines humanity’s relationship with the land.

With an insightful introduction about how humans have historically considered land – colonising, buying and exploiting it, particularly in the
West – Everard’s book details the shifts in societies’ attitudes towards their landscape and gives context to the increasing awareness of ecosystems services and their value.

Everard discusses the urgent need to shift to more sustainable lifestyles, and how this can be accomplished, punctuating his book with examples from across the globe of initiatives aimed at protecting land and ecosystems.

He highlights in particular the challenges in ensuring adequate food supplies in future and how we must move away from our historic perceptions of land to create “living landscapes” capable of supporting us.

Alongside new market frameworks to account better for our impacts on the land, Everard also explores the moral and spiritual imperatives for placing greater value on Mother Earth.


Review by Sarah-Jayne Russell, deputy editor of the environmentalist

Subscribe

Subscribe to IEMA's newsletters to receive timely articles, expert opinions, event announcements, and much more, directly in your inbox.


Transform articles

Corporate clean power buying hits record high

Global corporations such as Amazon and Google purchased a record 46 gigawatts (GW) of solar and wind energy last year, according to BloombergNEF (BNEF).

13th February 2024

Read more

Three-quarters of UK adults are concerned about the impact that climate change will have on their bills, according to polling commissioned by Positive Money.

13th February 2024

Read more

The reality of delivering net zero is that we need solutions tailored to specific areas. Peter Gudde explores models that local authorities could adopt

15th January 2024

Read more

Heat pump installations in UK homes increased by nearly a fifth last year, with over 200,000 now having been installed across the country.

11th January 2024

Read more

Last year was the warmest ever recorded, surpassing the previous annual high set in 2016 by a large margin, scientists have confirmed today.

9th January 2024

Read more

This year’s COP28 climate summit concluded with an “historic” agreement between countries to “transition away from fossil fuels”, although the final Global Stocktake text has been described as containing “a litany of loopholes”.

14th December 2023

Read more

The huge quantities of data we generate online every day is having an increasingly negative impact on the environment. Chris Seekings examines what is being done to tackle the problem

30th November 2023

Read more

The Labour Party’s climate policy team took part in a panel discussion with IEMA representatives at Westminster this morning, outlining what they plan to do should they win the next general election.

29th November 2023

Read more

Media enquires

Looking for an expert to speak at an event or comment on an item in the news?

Find an expert

IEMA Cookie Notice

Clicking the ‘Accept all’ button means you are accepting analytics and third-party cookies. Our website uses necessary cookies which are required in order to make our website work. In addition to these, we use analytics and third-party cookies to optimise site functionality and give you the best possible experience. To control which cookies are set, click ‘Settings’. To learn more about cookies, how we use them on our website and how to change your cookie settings please view our cookie policy.

Manage cookie settings

Our use of cookies

You can learn more detailed information in our cookie policy.

Some cookies are essential, but non-essential cookies help us to improve the experience on our site by providing insights into how the site is being used. To maintain privacy management, this relies on cookie identifiers. Resetting or deleting your browser cookies will reset these preferences.

Essential cookies

These are cookies that are required for the operation of our website. They include, for example, cookies that enable you to log into secure areas of our website.

Analytics cookies

These cookies allow us to recognise and count the number of visitors to our website and to see how visitors move around our website when they are using it. This helps us to improve the way our website works.

Advertising cookies

These cookies allow us to tailor advertising to you based on your interests. If you do not accept these cookies, you will still see adverts, but these will be more generic.

Save and close