The results of the IEMA Council Elections are now in. Click to find out who is joining the IEMA Council.

As the current term of office for those elected to the IEMA Council in 2008 is due to expire, IEMA members have since March been taking part in the process to elect new members. Following a nominations period, ballots have been undertaken in those constituencies where there were more nominations than places available. The results were released on Wednesday 6th June and IEMA is pleased to welcome thirteen new Council members.

The elected positions on Council are based on members' sectors (Business, Consultancy, Education and Public). The new individual representatives are:


  • John Leader
  • Susan Smitherson
  • Toby Robins


  • Rufus Howard
  • Fiona Draper
  • Simon Cordingley


  • Jo Murphy
  • Richard Holdsworth
  • George Ablett

Education (uncontested)

  • Miklas Scholz
  • Martin Bigg
  • Maarten Van Der Kamp

In the corporate membership section, Louise Ellis from the University of Leeds was uncontested.

The new members will take their place on the Council at the next meeting in September 2012, together with appointed members from IEMA's regional steering groups.

Council is a key advisory body to the IEMA Board on the Institute's strategic direction and on issues relating to the Institute and the environmental management and sustainable development profession as a whole. Council is also responsible for the appointment of the Institute's non-executive directors and on advising on the extent to which IEMA's strategy is being met.